top of page

Special Certifications for Physical Therapists

Physical therapists are highly trained professionals who help patients regain the ability to move around, perform daily tasks and activities, and recover from injuries. They do this using various techniques, including manual therapy, exercise therapy, electrotherapy, and aqua therapy.

In this article, we'll discuss what it means to be a physical therapist specialist and why you should consider getting one of their certifications.

What is a Physical Therapy Specialization?

A special certification is an additional credential that a physical therapist can earn after completing an approved specialized training program. This training typically occurs during the first two years of the three-year doctorate degree program in physical therapy (DPT). These certifications provide ongoing education and training for physical therapists who want to specialize in certain practice areas.

Physical therapy specialties are certifications that allow physical therapists to practice in specific areas. These include sports clinical specialists (SCS), wound management specialists (WMS), electrophysiologic clinical specialists (ECS), cardiovascular & pulmonary clinical specialists (CCS), geriatric specialists (GS) and pediatric rehabilitation specialists (PRS).

These certifications help clinicians provide better care for patients with specific conditions or needs.

What are the Benefits of Having a Specialization?

  • Increased income potential - By specializing in one area of physical therapy, you can offer more services to clients who need them. You can charge more for these services, which means more money for your business!

  • Job security - Specializing in an area gives you more credibility in your field than if you were just a general practitioner. Clients will be more likely to return for additional treatments or refer their friends and family members because they trust your expertise.

Certification Requirements

Physical therapy is a growing field, and there are many different specializations you can choose from. Each specialization has its own requirements and certification process.

Moreover, the American Board of Physical Therapy Specialties (ABPTS) requires that you have an undergraduate degree in physical therapy and at least two years of experience working with patients under the supervision of a licensed physical therapist. You'll also need to pass the written exam for your specialization and complete continuing education units (CEUs) every year.


When you're a physical therapist, it's important to keep your skills sharp. Special certifications can help you do just that. A professional specialization is an additional credential that signifies that the holder has mastered a specific practice area within their profession.

Steadfast Rehabilitation Services values excellent care. Hence, we have specialized therapists for every patient's needs. Whether you're a home health agency looking for specific therapists or a specialized therapist seeking a part-time job, we can help you out. Send us a message to inquire.


Commenting has been turned off.
bottom of page